Garage Forum > Garage Topics > Electrical / Plumbing / HVAC > modern options for upgrading a switch

Help Support Garage Retreat by donating using the link above or becoming a Supporting Member.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2017, 09:50 PM   #1
tws
Lurker, Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 7
Default modern options for upgrading a switch

greetings garage forum,

i have a well in my garage and a simple single electric wall toggle switch that turns on my pump. i would like to install a remote switch that will activate the pump without having to go inside and flip the switch every time.

i know nothing about wiring but am game to turn off the power and try and install a remote switch.

i was hoping someone might be able to direct me to some remote options and the step by step installation process...

thanks for a great forum.

tws


tws is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2017, 04:39 AM   #2
havasu
Garage Junkie
GR_ADMIN.png
 
havasu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4,210
Liked 812 Times on 728 Posts
Likes Given: 193

Default

For the correct answer for this problem, I recommend jumping to our sister site at Houserepairtalk.com. We have electricians there who can easily answer this question for you.


havasu is offline  
zannej Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2017, 07:12 AM   #3
Chris
Administrator
GR_ADMIN.png
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4,934
Liked 1097 Times on 984 Posts
Likes Given: 132

Default

Last week I had to fix my ceiling fan because the remote stopped working. I bought a new universal remote kit for 20 bucks at Lowe's. All it is is a receiver box that you install in line with your hot wire after your switch then you have a remote control to turn it on, it just had two pigtails that you wire nut, took a couple minutes and done . I can see this working with any other light or switch unless you have a lot of amps running through It? It's worth a thought.

Last edited by Chris; 05-04-2017 at 07:15 AM.
Chris is offline  
zannej Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2017, 02:48 PM   #4
havasu
Garage Junkie
GR_ADMIN.png
 
havasu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4,210
Liked 812 Times on 728 Posts
Likes Given: 193

Default

At Christmas time, I plug all my Christmas lights into a remote receiver, then plug that into a receptacle. This way, I use the remote to turn on the lights from 60' away. I'm sure this would also work for you.
havasu is offline  
zannej Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2017, 08:15 PM   #5
tws
Lurker, Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 7
Default

thanks everyone i appreciate the input... my pump is hard wired to a switch... sounds like the the Lowe's universal remote kit might work... will check it out the only drawback is i wouldn't want the garage door opener or any other remote i have to interfere and trigger the pump.
tws is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2017, 02:15 AM   #6
havasu
Garage Junkie
GR_ADMIN.png
 
havasu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4,210
Liked 812 Times on 728 Posts
Likes Given: 193

Default

Garage doors are usually a totally different frequency.
havasu is offline  
zannej Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2017, 02:44 AM   #7
Chris
Administrator
GR_ADMIN.png
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4,934
Liked 1097 Times on 984 Posts
Likes Given: 132

Default

They have a few different kinds that I saw. I got a intelicode one that will only work with this remote. Some were programmable with the 9 pin switches.
Chris is offline  
zannej Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2017, 03:08 PM   #8
WyrTwister
Garage Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 40
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Is this well to pump out ground water , Rain water , Sewage or drinking water for the house ?

God bless
Wyr
WyrTwister is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2017, 01:32 PM   #9
tws
Lurker, Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 7
Default

sorry for the belated reply... this well is to pump out ground water.
tws is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017, 01:05 PM   #10
WyrTwister
Garage Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 40
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Does it have a sump that it sets in , large enough to install float switches ? This is the standard way of doing this . You can even install an extra float , a top float , to signal an alarm ( horn , bell , buzzer , flashing lite , etc. ) .

This would attempt to warn you , if the pump malfunctions and does not keep the water level down correctly .

https://search.yahoo.com/search;_ylt...e=54431_021017

God bless
Wyr


WyrTwister is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compressed Air Plumbing options ME87 Electrical / Plumbing / HVAC 40 05-06-2016 03:22 PM
PITAS and complaints about modern engineering. frodo General Vehicle Discussion 20 01-23-2016 03:15 PM
Add outlet and switch in the garage? Zishan Electrical / Plumbing / HVAC 5 05-24-2011 05:29 AM
Heating Options Eddie_V Electrical / Plumbing / HVAC 3 03-05-2010 05:52 AM
Wiring a power cut-off switch Duncan27 Garage Doors and Windows 2 09-12-2008 02:31 PM



Newest Threads